Outstanding Seniors Honored at Awards Ceremony


Clare Ravizza , Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

In our final week of school for the 2016 school year, the NDA community all gathered together in the Rev. Guy E Guyon Auditorium for one last time. Students, faculty, and parents packed the theatre for the presentation of the Class of 2016 Senior Awards.

The assembly began, as all things do at NDA, with prayer. It was led by senior and Student Body President Joshua Wiesner.

Dr. Ravizza then took to the podium. He recapped all the drama and jokes of the 2015-2016 school year, including the bleaching of all the hockey boys’ hair, the Blazin’ Wing Challenge battle and the infamous picture of Elijah Dercks with his axe.

The award recipients were then announced. With a lot of talented students at NDA, the list of awards is long.

First, the art awards were distributed. Celia Glime won the David Duranceau Memorial Scholarship. The Nolan Kujava Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Susan Rose. Megan Southwick won the NDA Art Award. Chloe Noh was presented the Elliot Dauffenbach-Tabb Memorial Art Award, and her artwork will remain in the halls of NDA.

The Scholarships, Inc. Distinguished Student Scholarship was awarded to Sophie Harpt. Spencer Collard won the Jack Washington Wonderful World Scholarship. Emily Ness earned the Dr. Gerald J. Mortell, Sr. Oratory Award. Samantha DeGroot and Nicklaus Robinson were the female and male recipients of the Knights of Columbus Community Service Award.

Kicking off the leadership awards was Anne Fife, who won the Veterans of Foreign War Citizenship Award. Joshua Wiesner won the Kathryn Kratz Leadership Award. The Knights of Columbus John F. Kennedy Award was given to Dominic Maino.

Olivia Campbell and Vincent Pallini were the female and male recipients of the American Legion Athletic Award. Likewise, Madelyn Brusda and Brian Hansford earned the Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award.

The United States Marine Corps sponsored a number of awards, including the United States Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award, which was given to Michael Miller. They also sponsored the United States Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award won by Kristen Burkel. Finally, they awarded Evan Haas with the United States Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Band Award.

Mr. Hill then presented band awards to a number of musically talented students. Claire Loritz won the NDA Band Award. The John Philip Sousa Award was presented to Lauren Seidl. Quinn Bowman was awarded the Louis Armstrong Jazz Award. The Woody Herman Jazz Award was given to both Cole Chronowski and Aiden Glaser-Schoff.

Next, Mrs. Salerno presented the Harley & Jeanie Paquin Scholarship to Caitlin Aude. Formerly known as the NDA Choral Award, the scholarship was renamed in honor of Mrs. Salerno’s parents.


Keeli Otto earned the Kellert Memorial Scholarship. Mr. Guyette presented the NDA Mathematics Award to Cole Chronowski. Ms. Jochman was recognized for her Golden Apple Award before announcing the winners of the NDA Yearbook Award: Keeli Otto, Gabrielle Otto, and Emily Gerlikovski. The NDA Dramatics Award was given to Faith Hicks.

The female and male recipients of the Smart Family Foundation Scholarship were Gabrielle Otto and Matthew Budde. Andrea Ball earned the NDA Service Award. Finally, the Our Lady of the Bay Award was awarded to Vincent Pallini and Elizabeth Smith.


The Eagle Scouts were then recognized. This year’s group was the largest in the school’s recent history. Samuel Brada, Jacob Elmer, Eric Erb, Evan Haas, Michael Loomis, Adam Rakers, Joseph Sladek and Jacob Zeise were all acknowledged.

Subsequently, all the students enlisting in the military were recognized. Taylor Nagel is joining the U.S. Marines, Jarret Smith the U.S. Air Force, and Hunter Van Duyse the U.S. Navy.


The National Merit Scholarship Commended Students were then announced. These students included Elise Witmer and Liam Edgar. The National Merit Scholarship Finalists were also recognized. The three students to earn the title of Finalist were Cole Chronowski, Matthew Budde, and Christian Zimonick.

Next, all the IB Diploma Candidates were welcomed onto the stage and received their white cords to wear at graduation. These students were Caitlin Aude, Andrea Ball, Quinn Bowman, Samuel Brada, Cole Chronowski, Andrew Dellamater, Aiden Glaser-Schoff, Julie Koh, Megan Landwehr, Michael Linehan, Jack Martzke, Dominic McClain, Colin O’Toole and Jacob Re.

Following the IB Diploma Candidates was the presentation of the medals for the Top Ten. Valedictorian was Nicholas Shade, and Salutatorian was Christian Zimonick. Zimonick was followed by Andrea Ball, Ingrid Hirte, Melissa Rahn, and Matthew Budde and Sophie Harpt tied for Number Six. Cole Chronowski and Evan Haas also tied for Number Seven, followed by Jack Martzke, Maxwell Roitstein, and Gabrielle Otto.

Finally, Madeline Halama gave the touching Senior Reflection. She was then presented the Outstanding Senior Award. Mr. Kriegl concluded the ceremony with a blessing over all of the seniors.