Senior Standouts Recognized at Annual Awards Assembly

Clare Ravizza, Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

NDA’s Senior Awards Assembly recognized the outstanding members of the Class of 2017 on Wednesday.

The student body, faculty, staff, along with a few guest presenters, gathered in the Rev. Guy E. Guyon Auditorium. Mrs. Beth Huntley welcomed the group and Stephen Lovell, senior and Student Body President, led in prayer.

The program began with recognition of the most recent military appointments. Jacob Rose earned appointment to the U.S. Naval Academy for next year. Jason Revolinsky will be in the  U.S. Air Force ROTC at Embry Riddle Aeronautical University in the fall. Finally, Noah Huntley will enroll in the U.S. Marine Corps and attend UW Whitewater.

The three military appointees were then each presented with the American flag by Tony and Bennett Smith, father and brother of Class of 2016’s Jarett Smith, now in the military.

Emily Lelinski received the Nolan Kujava Memorial Scholarship for excellence in theatre. Jack Colleran received the Kellert Memorial Scholarship.

The NDA Art Award was presented to Maria Pable, and Taekyu (Q) Kim was the recipient of the Elliot Dauffenbach-Tabb Memorial Art Award.

Scholarships, Inc., although still considering scholarship applications from 11 NDA seniors with winners to be announced in June, awarded Emma Riedi with the Scholarships, Inc. Distinguished Student Scholarship.

The Dr. Gerald J. Mortell, Sr. Oratory Award was presented to Katrina Dietsche while the Knights of Columbus Community Service Award went to Chelsea Chrudimsky and Collin Clark. Elisabeth Lasecki walked away with the Veterans of Foreign War Citizenship Award.

Jason Revolinsky, VP of Outreach, received the Kathryn Kratz Leadership Award. The Knights of Columbus John F. Kennedy Award was given to Katherine Gapinski.

Maria Ehlinger and Nate Ihlenfeldt were the female and male recipients of the American Legion Athletic Award. The Smart Family Foundation Scholarship was awarded to both Claire Sternkopf and Cami Wendricks.

Michael DeLeers received the NDA Service Award and Katrina Dietsche the Our Lady of the Bay Award. The United State Mine Corps celebrated three NDA seniors: the Scholastic Excellence Award went to Anabelle Whatley, the Distinguished Athlete Award to Jacob Rose, and the Semper Fidelis Band Award to Ben Rose.

Mr. Bill Hill awarded the Director’s Award to Hailey Gutowski and Katherine Gapinski. Eleanor Sladek received the John Philip Sousa Award. The recipient of the Louis Armstrong Jazz Award was Kyle Yurek. The Woody Herman Jazz Award was presented to Claire Weydt.

Hailey Gutowski, Claire Sternkopf, Antonio Salerno, and Charlie Urick received the Harley & Jeanie Paquin Memorial Scholarship. The NDA Mathematics Award went to Jinqiu (Jessie) Fan while Alex Wasilkoff received the NDA Dramatics Award.

Only one senior, Noah Huntley, earned Eagle Scout recognition.

Next, the ceremony recognized those with PSAT scores that qualified them for National Merit Scholarships, a record number of NDA seniors in the Class of 2017. Emily Gibson, Ben Rose, and Melissa Wilke were Commended Students. National Merit Finalists included Sylvia Griffitt, Heather Ruby, Megan Schumer, Thomas Shade, and Alexander Wasilkoff.  Finally, Sylvia Griffitt was awarded the National Merit Scholarship.

Mr. Matt Schultz then presented the IB Diploma Candidates with their white cords to be worn during graduation ceremonies.

The Top Ten were also presented with their medals. Number 10 was Diego Mendoza-Diaz, preceded by Sarah Zarvan, Mary Zakowski, and Thomas Shade. Maria Ehlinger and Katrina Dietsche tied for 6. Megan Schumer was number 5, Heather Ruby number 4, and Alexander Wasilkoff number 3. Sylvia Griffitt is the Class of 2017’s Salutatorian with Emily Gibson the Valedictorian.

Finally, the Outstanding Senior Award was presented. This award is given to the student the Class of 2017 feels best represents their class. This year’s Outstanding Senior was Alex Wasilkoff.

President Kevin Shaw delivered his closing remarks, and the ceremony concluded with Carter Olles’ video tribute to service at NDA and a blessing from Fr. Brad VandenBranden, NDA Chaplain.