It’s Voting Season for Student Government Positions!

Gioia Cumicek, Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

Student government is looking for students who are motivated, dedicated and energetic to serve for the 2019-2020 school year.

Applications are now being accepted from current juniors interested in running for Student Body President, VP Senate, VP of Outreach, Fan Man or Mermaid.

Applications are also available for current sophomores and juniors that are interested in being the administrative assistant.   

Current freshmen, sophomores and juniors may also apply for the class president positions.

All these positions comprise the Executive Board, which is the planning board for all Student Government activities.

The applications and all required documents are to be turned in and completed by 3:30 p.m. on Thursday, April 18. Late documents will not be accepted under any circumstance, explained Frau Laaksonen, lead adviser for Student Government.

Elections will be a week from this Friday, April 26.

There are directions on the website to help those filling out the paperwork. Failure to complete necessary tasks on the paperwork will make for an ineligible acceptance.  There is also information about who the advisers are as well as answers to many questions candidates might have.

Once the all-school election is finished, other positions, such as senators and advocates will be available. The PowerSchool Learning page will be updated with information on these positions. Frau advises those interested to keep checking the website.

All-school speeches and elections will occur on April 26. The Class President speeches and elections are still to be determined.

Those who are running are required to meet next week Wednesday during both lunches for a brief meeting.

All-school officers are voted on by current freshmen, sophomores and juniors. The term begins in May of this year.

The outgoing Executive Board consists of Student Body President Will Templeton; Senior Class President Liz Scott; Junior Class President Howie Gerstner; Sophomore Class President Joe Re; Freshman Class President Anna Gruesen; VP Outreach Elizabeth Schaupp; VP Senate Zach Kellner;  Administrative Assistant Max Timmer; Communication Specialist Fuzz French; Rep to School Board Madie Laaksonen; Reps to Administration Olivia Vanden Elzen and Maggie Otradovec; Reps to Curriculum and Student Life Mattea Vecera and Isabella Zent; Fan Man Jake Gryboski; and Mermaid Brelyn McCarron.

Student Government advisers are Mrs. Jennie Laaksonen, Mrs. Gina Fredrick, Mrs. Holly Hinch, Mrs. Crystal Dory, Mrs. Caitlin VandenWyngaard, Mrs. Sarah VanGrunsven and Mr. Daniel Kriegl.

Students with questions can email or talk to any of the advisers.