2020 Senior Class Will Have Co-Presidents on Executive Board

Sam Schmid, Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

The ballots are in. The president of the senior class for the 2019-2020 school year is… Noah Sternig AND Scott Russell?

As a result of the practically identical voting numbers between the two candidates, there will be co-presidents for next year.

According to someone with a history in Student Government, NDA has never had a co-president.

“It was definitely a surprise when I heard that there will be two presidents,” said Sternig. “I look forward to next year and making it a memorable senior year.”

It was also a shock to Maxwell Timmer, the student body president for the 2019-2020 school year.

“I like both Scott and Noah and I wanted both of them to win, and I got just that,” said Timmer.

The idea of having two presidents is not that hard to comprehend, as they will provide advice and knowledge in their own separate ways.

“I’m very excited. I believe Noah and I will compliment each other nicely on different genres at Notre Dame Academy,” said Russell.

Howie Gerstner, the former junior class president, also loves this co-president idea.

“It will be a great opportunity to have multiple people contributing to the Executive Board,” said Gerstner. “They both bring different viewpoints and experiences that will enhance diversity within the Board.”

As far as the sophomore class president, Anna Gruesen takes home that honor for the upcoming year. Gruesen was freshman class president this year.

Running unopposed for junior class president was Joe Re.

“I think we have a lot of personalities involved that will make student government succeed next year,” said Re.

Class presidents and all-school officers, along with FanMan and Mermaid, comprise the Executive Board, sort of the Cabinet for all the activities coordinated by Student Government.

All-school officers include Timmer, student body president; Cassidy Noble, vice president of the Senate; Eli Servais, vice president of Outreach; and Maggie Otradovich, administrative assistant.  FanMan Gertsner and Mermaid Leya AbuJamra round out the Executive Board.