Sixty-Six Seniors Recognized at Senior Awards Ceremony


Aeva Ver Boort, Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

Two national merit scholarship winners, five Eagle Scouts and three future members of the military round out the Class of 2019,” said Principal Patrick Browne as he emceed the recent senior awards program.

The annual spring assembly highlighted the accomplishments of the graduating class.

On May 16, the Notre Dame Academy community gathered in the auditorium to recognize the seniors. Many different types of awards were presented–from academic to athletic to service and faith.

The senior class has achieved a lot this year, as 66 students received awards during the ceremony. For colleges, the class of 2019 will be spread out among 26 different states, including Italy. Altogether the class had 1,700 hours of community service. During the ceremony, 31 students received graduation cords as IB diploma candidates.

“To the class of 2019, I cannot express my depths of gratitude,” said Browne during the awards ceremony. “You have made all of us very proud.”

The class has three people serving our country, Ethan R. Motquin, Hannah Zehms and Andrew Gunville. The Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award was given to Theo Van Straten for being a good role model and working hard.

Another award known as the Distinguished Athlete Award went to Jenna Cuene. “She is kind to others and truly brilliant,” said College Counselor Becky Bain.

The Kellert Memorial Scholarship was given to Emily Jerzyk, who will be attending St. Norbert College. One of Campus Minister Daniel Kriegl’s favorite awards to announce is the Our Lady of the Bay Award which was given to James Kanning.

The American Legion Athletic Award went to Josh Cribben and Abby Comar who are driven athletes and exceptional students. Drama Club adviser and theater arts teacher Andrea Gilson presented the Drama Award to Jake VanderLeest for his demonstration of leadership to the arts.

Ally Robb received the Kathryn Kratz Leadership Award for her diligence and work, primarily in Student Government.  Bekah Boucher was the recipient of the Paquin Memorial Scholarship, a scholarship set up by Mrs. Chris Salerno’s family.

The salutatorian of the Class of 2019 was Wes Glime and the valedictorian was Zach Kellner. Not only was Wes the salutatorian, but he was also voted Outstanding Senior by his peers.

In closing thoughts senior Hannah VandenHeuvel spoke to the class:  “Together we changed, we achieved, we explored.” She reminded the class to “just sit in it,” to appreciate the moment. “Together we are the Class of 2019.”

“It is clear that this year has been one of emphasizing both the importance of being Catholic and excellent,” said Browne.