NHS Holds Induction Ceremony for Juniors & Seniors

Back to Article
Back to Article

NHS Holds Induction Ceremony for Juniors & Seniors

Gioia Cumicek, Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

On Tuesday, November 12, the National Honor Society Induction Mass and Ceremony was held at Notre Dame. 

Principal Patrick Browne, Associate Principal Greg Masarik and Sr. Pat Clement, interim president of NDA, officially welcomed 55 juniors and seniors into the national organization..

“National Honor Society is important because it makes you maintain your GPA and allows you the opportunity to tutor other students,” said senior Rachel Bal. 

Membership allows juniors and seniors who excel in academics along with service the opportunity to be recognized. 

Students in NHS must maintain a certain GPA while also looking for involvement in activities outside of school such as volunteering, sports and clubs.

Many students reach their service hour requirement by tutoring other students in the school,

going on the school service trips and volunteering around Green Bay. 

The students and parents were led by Fr. Raj Christian in mass before the induction ceremony. Students were also involved in the mass and induction readings. 

During the induction ceremony six officers from the class of 2020–Bridget Kapic, Cassidy Noble, Joseph Massabni, Scott Russell, Ben Zabriski and Courtney Romes–did readings on the core principles of NHS–leadership, character, service, and academics–and handed out certificates.

The current members of NHS include Leya AbuJamra, James Adams, Grant Allen, Kai Assef, Rachel Bal, Jordan Bellmund, Josephine Bieker, Clara Blumreich, Jacqueline Brady, Owen Brummel, Madalyn Burgess, Karen Cendejas, JunHyeok Cha, Bridget Charles, Jacob Conrad, Katherine Crane, Emily Cribeen, Olivia Cullen, Sydney Ditscheit, Emerson Dycus, Katherine Fangman, Howie Gerstner, Keegan Gille, Ryan Gomez, Dennis Guo, Hannah Guyette, Abigail Heyroth, Elizabeth Hoeppner, Adam Homel, Marcus Hornacek, Bridget Kapic, Adison Karbon, Alex LeMere, Ashley Lemens, Sydney Lemkuil, Emily Lin, Ellese Martin, Joseph Massabni, Ellen Meeuwsen, Joel Meglic, Mariah Michalski, Reid Milton, Cassidy Noble, Riley Onell, Molly Rader, Alexander Roach, Courtney Romes, Elizabeth Rose, Scott Russel, Sawyer Scholl, David Scolare, Eli Servais, Evan Skaletski, Logan Skaletski, Lydia Sladek, Benjamin Smet, Sydney . Steckart, Noah Sternig, William Urick, Lauren Van Gheem, Samuel Van Straten, Abigail VanOoyen, Sydney VanWychen, Mattea Vecera, Conner Wendricks, Isabella Weslow, Charles Wied, Evan Witczak, Abby Wittler, Benjamin Zabriskie, Carlos Zaragoza, and Isabelle Zingler-Hoslet. 

The inductees were Jennifer Ai, Charley Apple, Julia Augustian, Macy Augustine, Faith Barington, Olivia Berndt, Owen Campbell, Elaine Chosa, Jack Christensen, Emily Cooper, Thomas Coyle, Cryn Danen, Molly Desotell, Briana Fitzgerald, Sonja Gapinski, Judah Gartzke, Alexander Gryboski, Katelyn Grzelak, Noah Jaeckels, Tara Janas, Allison Johnson, Lillian Kaye, Emily Kulick, Talyor LaFever, Juliah Linzmeier, Tressa Martzke, Abigail Micksch, Claire Noble, Emily Noble, Brooklyn Onell, Samantha Opichka, Katie Peters, Sarah Petroll, Catherine Raacke, Joseph Re, Elizabeth Rickards, Sarah Rolain,Alexander Schrader, Matthew Schumacher, Charles Skogg, Alexandra Stover, Kennedi Turriff, Gianna Tyczkowski, Ava Van Straten, Riley VandenHouten, Jada Ver Boort, Madison Waldrop, Allison Welker, Aiden Wolfram, William Zellner, Anna Zimmnermann, Evan Connelly, Goretty Juarez, Maggie Otradovec and Evan Walczyk. 

Spanish teacher Diane Mulroney advises NHS and organized the ceremony.  Choir director Christine Salerno and music ministry volunteers provided the music for mass.