Who Will Win NBA Awards?

Maxwell Timmer, Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

The NBA regular season has come to an end and the playoffs have begun. With first round matchups coming to an end, here are my regular season awards for the NBA.

Most Valuable Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)

Okay yes, I might be a little bias since I am an avid Milwaukee Bucks fan but Giannis is the most deserving player for this award this year. While James Harden from the Houston Rockets is an amazing offensive player, he is not the all-around best player this year. Giannis is the most dominant player in the NBA. Giannis is leading the number one ranked team, and  they held that ranking for most of the year. Antetokounmpo is an offensive and defensive force that cannot be stop.

Defensive Player of the Year:  Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)

Yes, I know Giannis is already predicted to win MVP but hear me out. Giannis is the leading defensive player on the best defensive team in the league. He averages 1.3 steals and 1.5 blocks. His defensive presence is shown every game with multiple chase-down blocks and his ability to defend any position on the court.

Sixth Man of the Year: Lou Williams (Los Angeles Clippers)

Lou Williams is deserving of starting for the Clippers but is still flourishing in his role. He’s averaging 20 points and 5 assists as the sixth-man point guard. This is the least controversial award for this year’s race.

Most Improved Player of the Year: Pascal Siakam (Toronto Raptors)

Pascal Siakam is the most surprising player of this season. He jumped in point average by nine points and in rebound average by four rebounds. He also improved drastically in three-point shooting. Siakam has been the backbone for the Toronto Raptors. He will also play a major factor in the Raptors’ playoffs run this season.

Coach of the Year: Mike Budenholzer (Milwaukee Bucks)

Budenholzer has taken the 7th-seed bucks and improved them to the best seed in the East. Budenholzer improved wins from 44 to 58 wins. He’s improved the Bucks statistics in all of the major categories and has maximized the potential of this young team. Giannis is having his best season yet and is surrounded by three-point shooters. Without Budenholzer’s guidance, this team would not be anywhere close to the first seed.

Rookie of the Year: Luka Donic (Dallas Mavericks)

While Tray Young of the Atlanta Hawks did give Donic a run for his money, Donic’s fast start will take the award. Donic’s stats include: 21 points per game, 6 assists per game, and 8 rebounds per game. As a rookie, these stats are astronomical and are deserving of the award. Donic will take the award regardless of the surprising stats in the closing games of the season by Young.