Contestants Announced, Plans in Place for Academy Awards on February 1


Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

Fourteen juniors and seniors will compete Saturday night, Feb. 1, to be the 24th winner of the silver crown and purple robe traditionally worn by Mr. NDA.

Now known as the Academy Awards, for the second year in a row the show will include female   contestants in the show.

Junior Sonja Gapinsky and senior Maggie Otradovec will take the stage against 12 gentlemen: Owen Campbell, Howie Gerstner, Alex LeMere, Joel Meglic, Charles Peterson, Fritz Sehring, Erik Sladky, Ben Smet, Max Timmer, Evan Walczyk, Henry Wied and Evan Witczak.

A major fundraiser for Student Government, the Academy Awards helps defray the cost of the Academy Ball and post-prom while funding major service projects like meals at St. John’s Homeless Shelter and supplies for the Jamaican service trip.

“The best part of the Academy Awards,” said Student Government adviser Jen Laaksonen, “is how it brings the whole school together for a night of fun and laughs.  So many people are involved and work to make it such a success.”

Freshmen and sophomores as well as upperclassmen are involved, and the contestants are voted into the show by all NDA students.

“It’s fun to see athletes and musicians and people from various clubs and groups participating in one big production,” said another adviser, history teacher Julie Campbell.

Student and staff judges decide the winner–each voting independently on formalwear, talent, and  Q & A competition, the latter conducted by history teacher Matt Schultz.

DuBois Formalwear provides the tuxedos for the gentlemen and Mr. Schultz.  Green Bay Floral provides flowers for the contestants, emcees and winner.

Last year’s winner, Owen Brummel, will crown the winner.

Emcees selected in auditions last week are seniors Leya Abujamra and Mattea Vecera.