National Honor Society Adds 66 New Members to Its Tutoring Ranks


Will Drake, Staff Writer, Advanced Journalism

National Honor Society adviser Diane Mulroney recently announced the newest members for the NDA chapter.  The induction mass, traditionally in the first semester, has been moved to the second semester.

 Junior and senior students must have a 3.670 GPA or higher in order to apply for National Honor Society membership. They then fill out an application in which they reflect on the four pillars of NHS in their lives:  scholarship, service, leadership and character.  Students also need two letters of recommendation from NDA faculty or staff.

To stay in National Honor Society members must complete 15 hours of tutoring, a requirement that might be tougher to complete but even more needed in the time of COVID.

Senior Tara Janas, one of the society’s leaders, stressed how NHS has tried to adapt its tutoring program with the current pandemic and virtual learning.

NHS members avail themselves on Wednesdays when students come into the building for help from faculty and staff.

According to Janas, Mrs. Amy Heyroth in Student Services said math and science were the subjects where students seemed to struggle most.  Consequently, the weekly Student Newsletter emailed to students provides two hotlines for contacting a tutor:  [email protected] and

A tutor is available “live” 4:00-5:00 p.m. Monday-Friday, but email your question and a tutor will get back to you.  The Student Newsletter also has a form to request a tutor on a regular basis.
Other senior leaders working to keep NHS active and involved during virtual learning are Briana Fitzgerald, Faith Barington, Thomas Coyle, Julia Augustian, Ava Van Straten, Abigail Micksch and Lillian Kaye.

Named as new members from the Class of 2021 are Hannah Bressers, Robert Healy, Luke Hummel, Heidi Lulloff, Ammerae Peebles, Connor Seidl, Anna Smith, Emma Sullivan and Thomas Zakowski. 

The Class of 2022 added the following 58 new members: Rylei Anders, Abbigail Anderson, Triston Behrend, Joseph Bonadonna, Lucia Bosco, Baylee Brabazon, Celia Brummel, Nicholas Bumgardner, Christopher Charles, Stella Cuene, Andrew Delvoye, Taylor Delvoye, Charles DeRuyter, Abigail Elfner, Molly FitzGerald, Faith Frelich, Audrey Gagan, Carleen Goral, Kathleen Greene, Anna Gruesen, Abigail Haase, Sarah Hardwick, Conner Hawley, Sophia Hornberger, Maryssa Jaeckels, Alan James, Iana Jaslowski, Molly Kukiela, Jacob Limoni, Elise Lin, Alexandra Mach, Nicholas Massabni, Autumn Mayer, Christopher Mitchell, Karen Montes, Felix Neta, Andrew Nguyen, Grace Nimmer, Holly Perks, Mary Popkey, Isaac Rentmeester, Alan Schneider, Alora Schneider, Skylar Schultz, Samuel Smet, Jacob Smullen, Greta Sternig, Olivia Sullivan, Margaret Thillman, Kaitlynn Treankler, Caroline VanDrisse, Luke Warden, Frank Wied, George Wied, Rae Wied, Elizabeth Williams, Emma Wolf and Elliot Zent.

Members inducted last year were Jennifer Ai, Charley Apple, Julia Augustian, Macy Augustine, Faith Barington, Olivia Berndt, Owen Campbell, Elaine Chosa, Jack Christensen, Emily Cooper,Thomas Coyle, Bryn Danen, Molly Desotell, Briana Fitzgerald, Sonja Gapinski, Judah Gartzke, Alexander Gryboski, Katelyn Grzelak, Noah Jaeckels, Tara Janas, Allison Johnson, Lillian Kaye, Emily Kulick, Taylor LeFever, Tressa Martzke, Abigail Micksch, Claire Noble, Emily Noble, Brooklyn Onell, Samantha Opichka, Katie Peters, Sarah Petroll, Joseph Re, Elizabeth Rickards, Sarah Rolain, Alexander Schrader, Matthew Schumacher, Charles Skogg, Alexandra Stover, Kennedi Turriff, Gianna Tyczkowski, Ava Van Straten, Riley VandenHouten, Jada Ver Boort, Madison Waldrop, Allison Welker, Aiden Wolfram, William Zellner and Anna Zimmermann.

Senior Noah Jaeckles weighed in on the work he went through to join this group. 

“The application process was pretty long but well worth it in the end,” he said.